Maine Women's Basketball Coaches Association

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE March 5, 2013

Contact: Craig Dagan, MMA

207-326-2372

Kaitlin Donahoe, Gary Fifield, Mary Badeen, Morgan Cahill Head All-State Nominees

Bowdoin College senior guard Kaitlin Donahoe has been chosen as the Maine Women's Basketball Coaches Association (MWBCA) Player of the Year, while Mary Badeen and Morgan Cahill from St. Joseph's College and Maine Maritime Academy have been selected as the Co-Rookies of the Year. Gary Fifield from the University of Southern Maine was picked as the Coach of the Year.

A native of Amherst, New York, the 5-6 guard closes out her career with an outstanding senior campaign. The senior co-captain led the NESCAC in scoring at 15.4 points per game while averaging 3.2 assists per game. Donahoe also grabbed 3.8 rebounds per contest while swiping 38 steals throughout the season. Donahoe, who improved her points per game average each of her four years, finishes her time at Bowdoin with 1,058 career points to rank 11th in school history. Additionally, her 373 career assists stand third in program history while her 99 three-pointers are eighth. Donahoe averaged 17.9 points per game during her conference schedule this season.

Badeen, a freshman guard from Newport, Maine, led MMA in scoring (13.4 ppg), field goals made (98), three point field goals (56), steals (49), and was second in rebounding (6.1 rpg). Cahill, a freshman forward from Yarmouth, Maine, led the Monks in scoring (13.3 PPG), rebounding (8.0 RPG), blocked shots (60) and field goals made (146).

Fifield led Southern Maine to its 21st Little East Conference regular season title and 20th Little East Conference Tournament Championship with a record of 27-1 overall and 13-1 in conference action. Southern Maine earned its 26th trip to the NCAA Division III Women's Basketball National Championship Tournament since joining the NCAA in 1985.

First Team All-State

Kaitlin Donahoe, Sr. – Bowdoin College Nicole Garland, Sr. – University of Southern Maine Diana Manduca, Sr. – Colby College Beth Suggs, Sr. – University of New England Allie Beaulieu, Sr. – Bates College

Second Team All-State

Rebecca Knight, So. - University of Southern Maine Haley Jordan, Sr. - University of Southern Maine Kelly Coleman, So. - University of New England Jordan Grant, Sr. - University of Southern Maine Mary Badeen, Fr. - Maine Maritime Academy Morgan Cahill, Fr. - Saint Joseph's College

All-Rookie Team

Mary Badeen, Maine Maritime Academy Morgan Cahill, St. Joseph's College Meghan Gribbin, University of New England Shannon Brady, Bowdoin College Yvanessa Vincent, University of Maine @ Machias

Player of the Year: Kaitlin Donahoe, Bowdoin

Co-Rookies of the Year: Mary Badeen, MMA Morgan Cahill, St. Joe's

Coach of the Year: Gary Fifield, USM